Americanized

Coming February 6, 2018

The hilarious, poignant, and true story of one teens’s experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Lena Dunham’s books.
At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn’t learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job, but couldn’t because she didn’t have a Social Security number.
Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didn’t keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend.
Americanized follows Sara’s progress toward getting her green card, but that’s only a portion of her experiences as an Iranian-“American” teenager. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mother’s green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country at any time to the almost-as-terrifying possibility that she might be the only one of her friends without a date to the prom. This moving, often hilarious story is for anyone who has ever shared either fear.
“This irresistible and timely memoir is hard to put down.”– Booklist, starred review

“With gumption, Saedi draws from her American-ness and Iranian-ness for a successful depiction of immigrant life in the U.S.: a must-read”– Kirkus Reviews, starred review

NEVER EVER

Viking

Out now!

Wylie Dalton didn’t believe in fairy tales. Then she met a real-life Peter Pan. When Wylie encounters Phinn – confident, mature, and devastatingly handsome – at a party the night before her brother goes to juvie, she can’t believe how fast she falls for him. And that’s before he shows her how to fly.
Soon Wylie and her brothers find themselves whisked away to a mysterious tropical island off the coast of New York City where nobody ages beyond seventeen and life is a constant party. Wylie’s in heaven: now her brother won’t go to jail and she can escape her over-scheduled life with all its woes and responsibilities – permanently.
But the deeper Wylie falls for Phinn, the more she begins to discover that something is being kept from her and her brothers. Someone on the island has been lying to her, but the truth can’t stay hidden forever.
Love NEVER EVER? Take a trip to Minor Island for island recipes, playlists and more.
“An edgy thrill ride . . . a cleverly repackaged Peter Pan for teens, with characters and subplots that beg for a sequel.”– School Library Journal

 

“A shocking twist awaits the reader, giving this just enough to separate it from other Peter Pan offshoots.”– Booklist

COMING SOON!


Coming Spring 2018

THE LOST KIDS:

THE NEVER EVER SEQUEL

Viking
This stormy sequel to Never Ever is packed with more of everything you loved in Book 1: twists, action, revenge, and romance!